BayCare Health System Site Map HIPAA Disclaimer Social Media
St. Anthony's Hospital  
Find a Doctor Careers Classes & Events Driving Directions Foundation Pay My Bill Get E-Newsletter
Services About Us Patient/Visitor Info Triathlon Financial Assistance Policy Contact Us News
Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+) font size
Bookmark and Share
Media Inquiry Contacts


Print This Page     Email this to a Friend
Press Releases
Nominations for Legacy Awards Sought by St. Anthony's Hospital Foundation

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. (Oct. 26, 2011) – The St. Anthony’s Hospital Foundation is searching for nominees for its 2012 Legacy Awards, the annual community service and philanthropic awards that honor those who give time and talent to St. Petersburg and the hospital. Nominations are being accepted for the Roy G. Harrell Jr. Leadership Award; the Helen D. Roberts Award; and the Hippocrates Award for a physician or physician practice.

The deadline to submit nominations is Dec. 9, 2011.  This is the fifth year for the Roy G. Harrell and Helen D. Roberts awards. The Hippocrates Award was added last year. The awards will be presented at the annual Legacy Dinner at 6 p.m. Jan. 25, 2012, at the Hilton St. Petersburg Carillon Park, 950 Lake Carillon Drive, St. Petersburg.

The Roy G. Harrell Jr. Leadership Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates vision, initiative, motivation, selflessness and commitment through outstanding community service and leadership benefiting the community.

Past winners have been:

  • William B. McQueen – 2011

  • William G Tapp – 2010

  • Frank V. Murphy – 2009

  • Mary Wyatt Allen – 2008

The Helen D. Roberts Award recognizes an individual’s generosity in giving of his/her time, talent or monetary contributions to not-for-profit organizations devoted to educational, cultural, and social or public health concerns.

Past winners for the Helen D. Roberts Awards have been:

  • Gus A. Stavros – 2011

  • Betty B Allen – 2010

  • Ardith C. Rutland – 2009

  • John F. Lee – 2008

The Hippocrates Award, the Foundation award added this year, recognizes an individual physician or medical practice that demonstrates selflessness and dedication to the. The recipient also strives to improve patient care and to make that care more available to underserved communities. The first recipient of the award was Radiology Associates of St. Petersburg

Nomination forms can be downloaded from the Foundation’s website at The forms can then be emailed to, faxed to (727) 825-1184 or mailed to the St. Anthony’s Hospital Foundation at 1200 Seventh Ave. N., St. Petersburg, FL 33705.  For more information, please call Gail Cass-Culver at 727-820-7895.

About St. Anthony’s Hospital

St. Anthony’s Hospital is a 395-bed hospital founded in 1931 as a ministry of the Franciscan Sisters of Allegany and is the first and only faith-based hospital in Pinellas County. As St. Anthony’s celebrates its 80th anniversary in 2011, the hospital continues its rich history dedicated to improving the health of the community by providing high-quality, innovative and compassionate care. In 2010, St. Anthony’s Hospital earned the prestigious ENERGY STAR award by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for superior energy efficiency for a second year.  St. Anthony’s Susan Sheppard McGillicuddy Breast Center is the only breast center in St. Petersburg honored with accreditation from the National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers (NAPBC) and the American College of Radiology (ACR).

About BayCare Health System

BayCare Health System is a leading community-based health system in the Tampa Bay area. Composed of a network of 10 not-for-profit hospitals, outpatient facilities and services such as imaging, lab, behavioral health and home health care, BayCare provides expert medical care throughout a patient’s lifetime. With more than 200 access points conveniently located throughout Tampa Bay, BayCare connects patients to a complete range of preventive, diagnostic and treatment services for any health care need. 

BayCare’s family of hospitals are: Mease Countryside, Mease Dunedin, Morton Plant, Morton Plant North Bay, St. Anthony’s, St. Joseph’s, St. Joseph’s Children’s, St. Joseph’s Hospital-North, St. Joseph’s Women’s, and South Florida Baptist. For more information, visit BayCare on the Web at


Contact: Sherry Robinson, (727) 825-1445 Phone, (727) 257-7052 Pager